Using JavaScript for Automation

I've been playing around with the new JavaScript for Automation in Yosemite, and I must say that I've been smitten. It so much more predictable than AppleScript. However, I'm a noob when it comes to scripting in general.

So, on that note, does anyone know how I should be implementing JavaScript into my Alfred workflows? It won't run in a NSAppleScript action, nor will it run if I put in in a Run Script action with the language set to osascript. I was able to get it to work if I placed the script inside the workflow folder and ran it with a bash command, but then how do I grab the arguments in the script?

Thanks!

Edited by Caleb Grove

I've been playing around with the new JavaScript for Automation in Yosemite, and I must say that I've been smitten. It so much more predictable than AppleScript. However, I'm a noob when it comes to scripting in general.

So, on that note, does anyone know how I should be implementing JavaScript into my Alfred workflows? It won't run in a NSAppleScript action, nor will it run if I put in in a Run Script action with the language set to osascript. I was able to get it to work if I placed the script inside the workflow folder and ran it with a bash command, but then how do I grab the arguments in the script?

Thanks!

Either wait for a new release that supports it or run it using the shell 'osascript' command.

Hi, I use JavaScript for Automation and run it using the shell 'osascript' command, but I don't know how to get the arguments in the script.

OK, I have solved the problem, it looks like this:

function run(arg){
    console.log(arg);
}

I never wrote applescript and I know nothing about it. I read the document from this url, and I found that the run function. It solved my problem.

My English is very bad, I hope you can get it!

Xiabai,