Input Fields for Snippet Expansion

Hi alfredders :)

I love Alfred and struggle to find anything wrong with it. It has managed to substitute lots of tiny utility apps (weather, calculator, clipboard manager... Just to name the first that come to mind). For my line of work I type frequently the same text over and over and over. I've been using Typinator in the past and love its Input Field options (see attached screenshots). 

I was wondering if there was something similar in development for future version of Alfred or - EVEN BETTER - if a workflow already exists to achieve a similar result. In short I'd like to have the ability to expand a snippet with multiple choice to pick from (either single option or multiple choice, doesn't matter really). Or should i simply accept the idea that this is not achievable for the time being/future? I'm not a developer: I'm in the other side of the spectrum (read Designer) so not sure what I'm talking about here :P

Thanks in advance everyone and forgive me if this was not the right section to post this!

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 11.25.35.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 11.25.27.png

Hi @iiiax Welcome to the forum!

I'm glad to see you're already diving into the new 3.4 features :) I'm in fact in the process of writing a tutorial that shows you how to use Snippet Trigger objects to do exactly this.

It'll be live in a few hours on the blog, but in the meantime, you'll get a glimpse of how you can create it with this screenshot:

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 11.41.37.png

The top example uses a free text field, while the bottom one uses a pre-set list of arguments in a List Filter object.

I'll update this thread with a link to the tutorial and workflow itself later today - but in case I forget, be sure to check the blog :)

Cheers,
Vero

PS - Definitely no need to be a developer to create these snippet-based workflows!

Hi @Vero

It's an honour to get an answer from THE developer herself :)