Completely New To Developing (0 experience)

So I'll try and keep this post brief, and I did search around but I don't think I found exactly what I was looking for.  So I've been using alfred for about 6 months now I think, and the functionality I've gotten out of workflows is life changing (exaggeration? maybe.)  So I wanted to start making my own workflows, and have toyed around with the basic stuff you can do with 0 coding knowledge.  But, I really really want to make my own workflows that can do 'exactly' what I want.  More so as a hobby to give me something to do in my free time, and also make my life easier a little bit in the process.  I was wondering:  What programming language is 'best'?  Is this purely subjective through and through, or is it more of a use A for A, B for B.  On top of that, how realistic is it to pick up programming in general?  Or how was it for you?  Last part is purely anecdotal obviously, but just curious!

We briefly discussed this very theme recently.

Some languages are geared towards certain tasks. As examples, Processing is geared towards making graphics and R is for statistical analysis. This doesn’t mean they can’t be used for other tasks or that other languages can’t do what these do; it means these are optimised for their tasks. “Optimised” might mean a whole lot of things, like having specific tweaks to make accomplishing goals easier and with less code, or make their code run faster.