Block and unblock all cookies on safari?

Hello,

I'm having a hard time trying to create a workflow that could block "all cookies" on safari, and unblock them.

Do you think it is possible? I like to have all my cookies blocked, but sometimes I need to login to a website, and I have to go on safari -> preferences -> privacy -> and untick the "block all cookies" it's pretty annoying.

How would you do that? Do I have to use an AppleScript? I'm new to Alfred!

Thanks!

16 hours ago, Bitcoin said:

Do I have to use an AppleScript?

Pretty much, yeah. You’d need to use UI scripting to open Safari’s preferences, select the appropriate tab and (un)tick the box. Keyboard Maestro is your best bet for that kind of thing. You might also be able to toggle the setting using the defaults command, but that would require quitting Safari before changing the options.

Can you not use a private window instead of toggling cookies on/off?

Alternatively, use a more configurable browser, like Firefox or something Chromium-based. You can use an adblocker like uBlock Origin to very easily block/unblock cookies. Or an application that allows you to create a single-site browser (SSB). When Safari 14 improves its WebExtension support, you might be able to install uBlock Origin in there, too.

If you can tell us what your goal is (i.e. why do you want to turn off cookies), we might be able to give you a more concrete solution.

Edited by deanishe
6 hours ago, deanishe said:

Not as convenient unless we can make those the default. Seeing as we can’t even create new ones from AppleScript, I doubt that’s possible.

we might be able to give you a more concrete solution.

I’m thinking of two ways to go about it:

1. You (@Bitcoin) should ask Apple (open the Feedback Assistant app and fill a report) to give us more granularity over what’s set in the browser. Chrome is a great example, as it has a clear interface to let you disable and enable cookies and JavaScript on a per-site basis.