Workflow to pass argument to Terminal as one-time password

Hi,

I am trying to create a work flow that starts with keyword with argument with attempting to pass the user-input argument as a one-time password to a remote ssh server.

(The remote ssh server does not accept ssh-key setup, OTP is the only option there :( )

But some how I never managed to succeed. 

I am wondering if someone knows how to do this or is this possible at all?

Thanks! :)  

1 hour ago, ETN said:

I am wondering if someone knows how to do this or is this possible at all?

ssh (and most other programs) only ask for a password if they're connected to a terminal (i.e. an interactive session). If they're not, they exit with an error. That's almost certainly what's happening with your script.

You can try using sshpass or a pty library to create the pseudoterminal ssh is expecting.

Hi,

Thanks for the tips. I am new to workflow. I was not actually using any scripts for my ssh. My workflow opens the Terminal.app and I assume that was the interactive session?

I am not sure what you meant by "exit with an error". I just notice my Terminal shows "Password:" and just wait for user to input password instead of using the arguments from my workflow. It seems that the workflow kind of stops when it sees "Password:" in the terminal?

17 minutes ago, ETN said:

My workflow opens the Terminal.app and I assume that was the interactive session?

Yes, it is.

17 minutes ago, ETN said:

I am not sure what you meant by "exit with an error".

Sorry, I assumed you were running ssh from a Run Script action, not a Terminal Command because that's fundamentally unsuited for "talking" to a process like you're trying to do (enter the password).

32 minutes ago, ETN said:

It seems that the workflow kind of stops when it sees "Password:" in the terminal?