Script can't open a file that exists if I use the tilde (~) to refer to my home directory in a workflow variable

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Alfred and I love it!

I have a small php script that is in my home folder `~/dev/tag-buddy` and I want to call it from an Alfred workflow.

Simple Script Filter configuration that works fine

I've setup a script filter in bash language with this instruction `/usr/local/bin/php ~/dev/tag-buddy/src/search-tags.php "{query}"` and it works fine.

Below you can see the configuration

1128035268_Screenshot2021-08-01at18_15_40.png.3d86adf4f6c286db442fe05052feebea.png

Trying to use a variable to handle the path to php script

If I setup a worfklow variable to handle the php script path, like this:

474556114_Screenshot2021-08-01at18_15_52.png.d280a1b8bb07229a989db6ed70665097.png

and then I modify the Script Filter Object like this:

1323366065_Screenshot2021-08-01at18_15_06.png.ee9ffa75de08ab8a47b40ea92fac27a6.png

I get this error:

alfred-tb-4.thumb.png.9355d1997090162a8fd0da3b3b4b93ce.png

So the variable substition has worked fine, since Alfred tries to open the file with the right path, but it doesn't work.

However, if in the workflow variable I write the complete path, replacing the ~ with my actual home directory path, the workflow is fine.

So it doesn't like when using the ~ in a workflow variable.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,

Francesco

Hi @magobaol, welcome to the forum.

39 minutes ago, magobaol said:

Am I doing something wrong?

Yes. Expanding ~ to your home directory is something that bash (and zsh) does only when it’s directly specified as an argument. If you have a variable with ~ in it, you just have a tilde character.

Putting tagbuddypath=~/dev/tag-buddy in your script will work because bash will expand the tilde before setting the variable, but Alfred doesn’t expand tildes in your workflow variables.