Action on file to create subfolder and move it to a specific folder

Hello dear Alfred forum members

I am new to Alfred and am already enjoying using it.

There is one workflow that I would like to create and it seems fully out of my capabilities.

Basically I would like to file an email attachment into a folder that is names with date and then the attachment file name and move it to a specific folder.

Is this something that can be done with Alfred?

All I have so far is a Universal Action called "FilingCustom" but then I already stop because I can't see how to create a folder.

I guess it needs scripting from here? Or could Alfred do that with its own tools and someone could guide me into the right direction?

That would be very much appreciated 🙂

Greetings, Chris

Hi @Alfred-Chris, welcome to the forum.

It sounds like it's probably possible, but you're going to have to provide a significantly more precise description of what you're trying to achieve if you want actionable advice.

4 hours ago, Alfred-Chris said:

Basically I would like to file an email attachment into a folder that is names with date and then the attachment file name and move it to a specific folder.

I mean, what are we talking about here? Is the folder named with the date the same folder as the "specific folder"?

This is too vague to give you anything useable.

Edited by deanishe

Hi deanishe

Thanks a lot for answering and I ca see that you are absolutely right.

Let me try and explain better.

The workflow would be:

- Email with attachment arrived

- The attachment's filename is "Project1-100-001-B - Document name.pdf"

- I highlight the attachment inside the email and trigger the Alfred Action Menu

- In here I would like to have an action that will do the following:

- Create a folder that has the format "Date added - Attachment's Filename" in a specific folder (e.g. inside "Documents")

- (example here: The folder would be called: "2021-08-28 - Project1-100-001-B - Document name"