Setting variables in a python script doesn't work

I'm new to making workflows using python scripts. I am trying to set som variables inside a python file that runs through the the "run scripts" block. However I can't get it to work, and I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

import sys
import re
import json

query = sys.argv[1]

data = {
    "alfredworkflow": {
        "arg": "",
        "config": {
        },
        "variables": {
            "a": "test"
        }
    }
}

json.dump(data, sys.stdout)

The python file outputs isn't able to parse the JSON, and instead just outputs it as a string: "{"alfredworkflow": {"arg": "", "config": {}, "variables": {"a": "test"}}}". And when I use {var:a} in a notification block, it's empty. 

[16:32:12.639] Notion quick add[Keyword] Processing complete
[16:32:12.640] Notion quick add[Keyword] Passing output 'input' to Run Script
[16:32:12.695] Notion quick add[Run Script] Processing complete
[16:32:12.714] Notion quick add[Run Script] Passing output '{"alfredworkflow": {"arg": "", "config": {}, "variables": {"a": "test"}}}input
' to Post Notification

Welcome @villi,

You have unnecessary code your snippet. Unless input is supposed to come into play. But if it is, as @giovanni noted it’s not clear what it’s supposed to refer to.

With the given information, this should work:

import sys
import json

data = {
    "variables": { "a": "test" }
  }
}

9 hours ago, vitor said:

Welcome @villi,

You have unnecessary code your snippet. Unless input is supposed to come into play. But if it is, as @giovanni noted it’s not clear what it’s supposed to refer to.

With the given information, this should work:

import sys
import json

data = {
    "variables": { "a": "test" }
  }
}

@vitor Thanks!

Don't know what the difference between your code and mine was, but it somehow works now! 

• 1 month later...

Legends!