Jump to content

Help with Alfred 5 sync location


cortig
 Share

Recommended Posts

I must have missed something (or hit a bug), but after launching v5.0 EA4 (2039), all my v4 workflows are gone.

I thought v4 workflows were supposed to still be compatible with v5. Is that not the case?

 

Corentin

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I can reimport them from my .alfredworkflow backups though so it looks more like a migration issue than a compatibility issue.

 

As a side note, I'm having a very hard tie getting the keywords to trigger any workflow.

I have a workflow using the keyword pm for instance and if I type "pm whatever" it offers to search Google, Amazon or Wikipedia for "pm Whatever" instead of triggering the workflow.

 

image.thumb.png.df921437fb4e50363294420fba8a4b53.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Actually my web searches are gone too. It looks like the migration failed altogether.

I had to respecify my Synced folder. Alfred then restarted and displayed everything as it should have in the first place.

 

It might be a limitation of the beta, but it should be made clear that we need to re-select the sync folder (or I missed it , in which case I'm sorry…………).

 

 

Corentin

Edited by cortig
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you followed the onboarding process correctly, the sync folder would have been automatically migrated across from Alfred 4 without having to do anything.

 

Could you have possibly not entered your Powerpack details the first time you went through the onboarding? (Sync folder is not available to non-PP users so this would have reset it).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, Andrew said:

If you followed the onboarding process correctly, the sync folder would have been automatically migrated across from Alfred 4 without having to do anything.

 

Could you have possibly not entered your Powerpack details the first time you went through the onboarding? (Sync folder is not available to non-PP users so this would have reset it).

 

I entered the PowerPack details immediately. To be precise, I entered my v4 details first, not realizing that I needed to upgrade, then was told to upgrade my license (which I did) and then entered the v5 license.

I wonder whether entering the v4 license first might have been what reset the sync options.

 

Corentin

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Vero changed the title to Help with Alfred 5 sync location

Wanted to add to this for others who may run into this- I upgraded my Powerpack license so Alfred 5 had a different Powerpack license. This caused an empty sync file and new location. When I tried to point to the correct sync file, I was a little confused due to the sync file being grayed out.

If you select the folder the sync file is in, it will use that older/correct sync file, restart Alfred and will work as always.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...