Parameters to script/applescripts

Newbie here, I'm afraid I haven't really understood how data is passed between Alfred and scripts. Could anyone please explain how it's done?

I'm mostly interested in Applescript and Python (although I assume that all scripting languages works the same).

- jem

Newbie here, I'm afraid I haven't really understood how data is passed between Alfred and scripts. Could anyone please explain how it's done?

I'm mostly interested in Applescript and Python (although I assume that all scripting languages works the same).

- jem

Alfred passes data to script in the form of a placeholder variable, {query}. So, when passing data into a Run Script item with the language set to Python, you could do something simple like: 

temp = "{query}"
print temp

Which (obviously) would take the value passed into the workflow, save it into a variable named "temp" and then print that value. You can test this by creating a keyword, run script, and a large type item,  tie them together, and insert the code above. Anything entered after the workflow keyword would be displayed in Large Type.

The only exception to this would be the Run NSAppleScript item. NSAppleScript items differ from /usr/bin/osascript Run Script based items in, NSAppleScript items will block Alfred from doing anything else until the execution of the script completes. A Run Script item with the language set to osascript runs in the background. To use a Run NSAppleScript, you wrap your code in on alfred_script(q), similar to Alfred 1. See example below.

on alfred_script(q)
  set temp to q
  return temp
end alfred_script

Let me know if you have any other questions.

• 4 weeks later...

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks! I've been looking for this simple explanation for ages. Nicely written.

I've now got my workflow up and running sweetly. I will post it soon, but there's one related question I have.