Workflow with python script - modifying a string

Hi,

I'm new to alfred & am trying to make a simple workflow to reverse a string of letters and convert each letter to another letter (eg. convert A to T), then copy the output to the clipboard. I have a python script to do this, but I'm having trouble making it part of an alfred workflow.

Here's the script:

#reversecomplement

def reverse(s): 
     """Return the sequence string in reverse order."""
     letters = list(s)
     letters.reverse()
     return ''.join(letters)

def complement(s): 
   """Return the complementary sequence string.""" 
   basecomplement = {'A': 'T', 'C': 'G', 'G': 'C', 'T': 'A', 'a': 't', 'c': 'g', 't': 'a', 'g': 'c'} 
   letters = list(s) 
   letters = [basecomplement[base] for base in letters] 
   return ''.join(letters)

def rc(s): 
    """Return the reverse complement of the dna string.""" 
    s = reverse(s) 
    s = complement(s) 
    return s

Disclaimer: I have very little experience in writing code.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi,

I'm new to alfred & am trying to make a simple workflow to reverse a string of letters and convert each letter to another letter (eg. convert A to T), then copy the output to the clipboard. I have a python script to do this, but I'm having trouble making it part of an alfred workflow.

Here's the script:

#reversecomplement

def reverse(s): 
     """Return the sequence string in reverse order."""
     letters = list(s)
     letters.reverse()
     return ''.join(letters)

def complement(s): 
   """Return the complementary sequence string.""" 
   basecomplement = {'A': 'T', 'C': 'G', 'G': 'C', 'T': 'A', 'a': 't', 'c': 'g', 't': 'a', 'g': 'c'} 
   letters = list(s) 
   letters = [basecomplement[base] for base in letters] 
   return ''.join(letters)

def rc(s): 
    """Return the reverse complement of the dna string.""" 
    s = reverse(s) 
    s = complement(s) 
    return s

Disclaimer: I have very little experience in writing code.