how to delay script execution?

Hi guys.

I'm new to this whole workflow thing. I'm trying to create a workflow that create new jekyll post. Currently it look like this:

13%205:42%20AM.png

- terminal command will build and watch jekyll directory.

- bash script will create markdown file bassed on user input and open the markdown editor.

- applescript will open new chrome tab to local server.

my question would be:

- is there a way to run jekyll watch via script instead of terminal command?

- is there a way to run applescript as an output. But delay for a few seconds?

Thank you.

Hi guys.

I'm new to this whole workflow thing. I'm trying to create a workflow that create new jekyll post. Currently it look like this:

13%205:42%20AM.png

- terminal command will build and watch jekyll directory.

- bash script will create markdown file bassed on user input and open the markdown editor.

- applescript will open new chrome tab to local server.

my question would be:

- is there a way to run jekyll watch via script instead of terminal command?

- is there a way to run applescript as an output. But delay for a few seconds?

Thank you.

I've never used Jekyll but most languages have a sleep/wait command. AppleScript uses "delay X" to delay the script for X seconds.

Also, look at the Egg Timer workflow that's somewhere on this forum. It can show you a script could give you updates.

If you have growl installed, then your bash script could just execute a command like 

growlnotify -n "My App" -m "Hello world"

randomly at intervals to keep you updated. At the end, the script can launch an applescript via the command line to open the tab via chrome.

--OR--