Jump to content
zkarj

Rebuilt my account – how can I copy workflows over?

Recommended Posts

I've just wiped my boot drive and re-installed Mavericks and all my software. I have Alfred 2 installed and licensed and doing its basic tasks, but I don't have my workflows from the old install.

 

I do have a clone of the old drive image, can I copy some files across to retrieve the workflows or do I have to boot from the clone, export, boot from the new and import?

Share this post


Link to post

I've just wiped my boot drive and re-installed Mavericks and all my software. I have Alfred 2 installed and licensed and doing its basic tasks, but I don't have my workflows from the old install.

 

I do have a clone of the old drive image, can I copy some files across to retrieve the workflows or do I have to boot from the clone, export, boot from the new and import?

 

1. Are you able to mount and browse the old drive image?

2. Were you using any kind of app to sync your preferences before? (Dropbox, etc)

 

If you can mount and browse the image and were NOT syncing preferences, Alfred 2's preferences reside in ~/Library/Application Support/Alfred 2/Alfred.alfredpreferences. If you copy that file from the old drive image into the same place on the new installation, everything should copy over. Not sure how Alfred would handle his preferences being overwritten while he's running so you MAY have to restart him to get the preferences to take affect.

Share this post


Link to post

I've just wiped my boot drive and re-installed Mavericks and all my software. I have Alfred 2 installed and licensed and doing its basic tasks, but I don't have my workflows from the old install.

 

I do have a clone of the old drive image, can I copy some files across to retrieve the workflows or do I have to boot from the clone, export, boot from the new and import?

 

There's a thread about where workflows are stored on the disk. That should help

 

Cheers :)

Share this post


Link to post

1. Are you able to mount and browse the old drive image?

2. Were you using any kind of app to sync your preferences before? (Dropbox, etc)

 

If you can mount and browse the image and were NOT syncing preferences, Alfred 2's preferences reside in ~/Library/Application Support/Alfred 2/Alfred.alfredpreferences. If you copy that file from the old drive image into the same place on the new installation, everything should copy over. Not sure how Alfred would handle his preferences being overwritten while he's running so you MAY have to restart him to get the preferences to take affect.

 

Yes and no, so I was able to go and grab the file as described and have all my lovely workflows back. :-)

 

Thanks (and to Tyler) for the help.

Share this post


Link to post

Yes and no, so I was able to go and grab the file as described and have all my lovely workflows back. :-)

 

Thanks (and to Tyler) for the help.

 

You are very welcome. Glad you got it worked out. Let us know if you need any more help

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...