Jump to content

Where does Alfred save Workflows and other data?


Recommended Posts

Because of an unrelated problem, Apple had me switch to a newly created User account.  Most data was transferred, but not my Home LIBRARY folder (where the undiscovered problem probably lay).  Is there a file or folder I can transfer from my old and to my new User account, so that I do not have to recreate workflows, etc?

 

I did "sync" to the Shared folder and double-clicked on that Preference file to open Alfred in the New account, but no workflows seem to have been transferred.

 

(I also re-entered the (v 2) Powerpack Lic code.  I have not been using Dropbox.  Just created a DB account 10 minutes ago)

 

I miss my Alfred!!!   :(    All help greatly appreciated!    

 

- Eliot

 

Alfred v 2 PPack  on a Macbook Pro running 10.9.2

Link to post

Because of an unrelated problem, Apple had me switch to a newly created User account.  Most data was transferred, but not my Home LIBRARY folder (where the undiscovered problem probably lay).  Is there a file or folder I can transfer from my old and to my new User account, so that I do not have to recreate workflows, etc?

 

I did "sync" to the Shared folder and double-clicked on that Preference file to open Alfred in the New account, but no workflows seem to have been transferred.

 

(I also re-entered the (v 2) Powerpack Lic code.  I have not been using Dropbox.  Just created a DB account 10 minutes ago)

 

I miss my Alfred!!!   :(    All help greatly appreciated!    

 

- Eliot

 

Alfred v 2 PPack  on a Macbook Pro running 10.9.2

 

Which "Shared" folder are you referring to? By default, Alfred should be saving all his preferences in ~/Library/Application Support/Alfred 2/. That is assuming you were using Alfred 2 before. Check that location for the Alfred.alfredpreferences file. If it exists, copy it, go to that location on the new user account, delete the existing preferences file and replace it with the copy of the old file. Be sure to take ownership of the file to ensure you have permissions to it.

Link to post

Thanks, guys!!  I had synced to the Shared User Account folder.  And I think because of permissions, it wasn't working, even after I tried to change ownership (chown) of the prefs file (recursively) and its encompassing folder.

 

But I set up sync to my new dropbox account, and it worked beautifully.  Thanks, Roger, for giving me confidence in the Prefs file, and David, for the info which may be useful later.

 

Very happy to have Alfred back in my life!!

Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...