Using the new External Triggers in Alfred

Hey all,

These new External Triggers seem like a pretty cool thing. Here's a tiny, useless workflow that shows a simple implementation of them. Basically, it uses Alfred as a "notifier." You can invoke it with a keyword from inside the workflow with "notify." So, basically, think of how you might call it from another workflow.

Again, this is just for demonstration purposes. I'm really interested to see how people will use this new, cool feature.

You can find a repo here: https://github.com/shawnrice/alfred-notifier

Or you could download the workflow here and check out its innards.

Hmm. So what's the USP of these external triggers, then?

I think it is a way to make an external application (like Hazel)  to interact with a workflow directly, without showing Alfred and without clutter the user interface with unnecessary keywords (an external keyword is only for that). Anyway, I’m still learning about it and its advantages.  

I think that it's one of those things that has the potential to change how we use Alfred in a radical way. Although, I don't know what that is yet (hence, I started this topic).

I know that it provides a way for Workflows to interact with each other, if we stay solely in the context of Alfred.

With Hazel, you could automate mundane tasks that work with Alfred. And, whenever we use Hazel, we could use that new cron workflow for things. So, say if Stephen wanted his Zotquery workflow to have it's sqlite database clone up to date with Zotero's, he could add an external trigger to the "update cache" argument and then call it, say, once an hour or once a day via Alfred Cron. Carlos' Evernote workflow could start interacting with (again) Stephen's Evernote Wiki workflow in that if something is added to one, then it queues something else up in another.

These aren't particularly outside-the-box ideas, but I'm confident that others are there.