Jump to content

Alfred 2.3 (264) wiped out all my workflow categories


dfay
 Share

Recommended Posts

I had spent a bit of time putting my 50 or so workflows into a mix of the default categories and 4-5 custom categories.

 

I just updated Alfred to 2.3 (264).

 

All of the workflows that were in one of the default categories are still categorized.  All of the others are now "uncategorised." 

 

(also Alfred is using British English spelling of categorize :) )

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I had spent a bit of time putting my 50 or so workflows into a mix of the default categories and 4-5 custom categories.

 

I just updated Alfred to 2.3 (264).

 

All of the workflows that were in one of the default categories are still categorized.  All of the others are now "uncategorised." 

 

(also Alfred is using British English spelling of categorize :) )

 

The categories are stored within the workflows themselves, so Alfred shouldn't have just wiped them out. For updates, were you following the pre-release builds as sometimes, I add in temporary cleaning code which performs maintenance before general releases.

 

As for "categorise", we are based in Cambridge, UK, so of course we are going to spell categorise correctly ;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Another thing which may have wiped out your categories is if you have syncing turned on with an old version of Alfred somewhere also syncing which is clearing out categories from the newer version of Alfred... or even a Dropbox sync conflict.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks - I have Alfred running on three machines, had a beta on one, & didn't upgrade all at once, so it was probably a syncing issue.

 

Actually....I just looked now (on a different machine) and they are back - so maybe it synced back from one of the others with the categories intact?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks - I have Alfred running on three machines, had a beta on one, & didn't upgrade all at once, so it was probably a syncing issue.

 

Actually....I just looked now (on a different machine) and they are back - so maybe it synced back from one of the others with the categories intact?

 

That sounds about right, you may have just been looking at different versions of Alfred so the categories didn't match up.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have this same problem after the latest update where my saved custom searches and settings such as the itunes "show these keywords in alfred default results" reset to default. Definitely don't have an old version of Alfred running elsewhere. 

 

This is likely to be a different issue to the other user if you're not syncing your settings between Macs. Do you have an App Cleaner application on your Mac? This can happen if a cleaning app tries to delete your settings during an upgrade. You should be able to retrieve the preferences files from your Trash if that is what's happened :)

 

[Moving to Closed as this isn't an Alfred bug]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...