Does importing workflows pose any security risks?

I'm a noob and loving Alfred 2. I've imported a bunch of workflows and am wondering if they pose any security risks.

• Can malware, viruses or keystroke loggers be added to my system by way of an imported workflow?
  • Are workflows safe?
  • Does running anti-virus on them before import do any good?
  • What precautions does Alfred 2 take to make sure that no malevolent code gets added to my mac?

Thanks for the app. It's really well done!

Edited by bobbyroberts99

Importing workflows does not pose a risk. That said, running them might. Running an anti-virus on them should be pretty much useless; workflows can run arbitrary code, much more than an anti-virus could detect.

It’s on you to make sure you trust the source of a workflow (or any app, for that matter). Alfred itself does not make any precautions, as that’d be self defeating — its power comes from its flexibility. The vast majority of workflows are built with scripting languages, which means they can be easily audited, so if you’re worried, stuck to popular workflows and the ones made by trustworthy users. These forums are a great way to get a feel for what those are.

That's what I thought. That's what I did. Hope I guessed right! Good to have my suspicions confirmed. Thanks for the quick response.

Have you ever heard of any malicious code problems from workflows? I got most (if not all) from Packal or these forums.

We've n ever heard of anything malicious being spread via extensions or workflows. Hopefully we never will. So far, the community of workflow developers and creators have been a great asset and continue to help Alfred grow.

That's what I thought. That's what I did. Hope I guessed right! Good to have my suspicions confirmed. Thanks for the quick response.

Have you ever heard of any malicious code problems from workflows? I got most (if not all) from Packal or these forums.