Search Top level folders only using script filter - workflow

Hi!

I'm an alfred noob, and not much of a programmer - so I was wondering if someone could help.

I'm looking for a way to search top level folders in a specific directory only - and exclude its children - I'm guessing with a script filter.

Context -

We do a lot of development locally and I am often having to type in http://localhost/foldername to open the local instance of a website. 

Because there are so many its a bit of a pain in the proverbial.

I've managed to cobble together a script that searches my localhost folder and opens the folder name (as $filename)  at http://localhost/$filename

I'm using the file filter, which returns all the sub folders in my localhost - I'm guessing I need to write a script filter that ignores sub folders and only looks for top-level directories in the localhost directory.

thanks!

Edited by JorgeLuisBorges

Hi Jeorge,

the solution I can give you is so a 'dirty' hack that I'm almost shameful telling you.

I had a similar need, and didn't have time to look for an apposite script,

what I have done is this:

added to all the root site folders an unique tag, something like 'rootfolder'

in Yosemite you can select multiple folders and set a tag once to all of them, don't know in previous versions

in the advanced tab of the file filter, on the fields list, I have added the kMDItemUserTags field, and put in the value rootfolder ( the tag )

now the file filter searches using your search critera, but also check that the items found contains the tag rootfolder, which only the root folders have, so only them are returned

don't know if is a solution for you...

Giulio

Edited by juliosecco

Hi Jeorge,

the solution I can give you is so a 'dirty' hack that I'm almost shameful telling you.

I had a similar need, and didn't have time to look for an apposite script,

what I have done is this:

added to all the root site folders an unique tag, something like 'rootfolder'