Evaluating the result of a bash script

Hi there,

I'm a newbie to Alfred and completey overwhelmed by the possibilities of its workflows.

As such, I have a newbie question but google and the search engine of this forum could not help me.

In a workflow I'm using the (Action => Run Script) element to call a bash script that resides in my home folder. This bash script returns 0 in case everything is fine and a different number else. I'm now interested to evaluate this result but don't quite manage to get this done. 

Do I have to pass the result of the script into some variable of Alfred after calling the script? (at the moment the Run Script element only comprises one line).

The filter element looks like what I'm searching for but it is not quite working. Obviously the output from the script does not really end up in the filter....

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Have a nice Sunday!

Nils 

Basically, I want to inform the user whether the script succeeded or not (as it has a certain chance to fail). To do so, I added a filter object behind the Run Script and post a notification.

I read a lot about the structure of workflows this evening and I think that the main issue is/was that I was calling the complete script instead of putting the steps of the script into the Run Script element. 

My new approach is now:

1) I added a variable to the workflow

2) I put the various steps of my bash script into the run script element. I can check for errors and set the workflow variable accordingly

3) In the filter I can then check for the value of the workflow variable and post a message. 

So far, this is not yet runnning. But I' hoping to be on a good way...

The Post Notification action has a handy "Only show if the input has content" option. You can use that to "filter" the error message without having to set variables or use Filter objects.