Script Action with Bash Script randomly stops before echo

I am having problem with a script from a workflow I’m creating to interact with OpenAI’s API. I’m not a developer and I’ve used a lot of GPT help for this, but I’m at the point where I’m lost and seems to be hitting the limit of how GPT 4 can help me with this.

The idea of the workflow is so that I can be in Bear, my note-taking app (or any markdown note taking app) and that I can start a Chat GPT chat right there, just below a markdown line (---) . Applescript is used to select my text, copy it, extract the actual request text (after the last line), and then it get to this Bash script which does the request and where somewhere in there the problem lies.

The reason it’s making me crazy is because it seems to work perfectly at first, but randomly after a few messages (or sometimes on the first one), and without showing anything at all in the debugging console, it just doesn’t echo the assistant response, which a following action should then paste in my frontmost app. The response is also saved to a json file that is used to keep track of context, and it does gets output there every time without issues. It’s just that for some reason the script action doesn’t echoes the variable so that the can workflow continue... seems to just stop running. 

Any idea of what could be happening would be very helpful. I thought it had something to do with timeouts but since it is written to the context json file then I don’t think that’s the reason. There’s also been a few cases where the context json file gets some ?? Characters at the end making it unreadable, and I have no idea of the reason for that, and can’t reproduce it yet... but this first issue is keeping me sleepless.

I’m on Alfred 5.1.4 [2195], Mac OS 14.2.1 (23C71). 

The script is this:

#!/bin/bash

# Configuration variables
CONTEXT_MESSAGES_LIMIT=10