Automated Testing of Workflow

Hi

I'm pretty new to Alfred, I've only been using it for a few weeks. Its a great productivity tool, and I really like that it has a plugin model (i.e. workflows).

I have started writing a workflow here https://github.com/eli-jordan/alfred-jenkins (it's not published yet, since I'm still working on it).

However, I've found it pretty frustrating to have to constantly manually run a set of "regression" tests on the code when I make changes.

Has anyone tried to write automated tests that invoke alfred and verify the items the are returned?

If not, how do people test the integration points between their code, the config in the Alfred workflow UI and Alfred itself?

9 hours ago, Eli Jordan said:

Has anyone tried to write automated tests that invoke alfred and verify the items the are returned?

You can't, really. Alfred's output only goes to its own UI. But as workflows are basically command-line programs that output JSON, it's not too hard to call the binary/script with the appropriate CLI arguments and environment variables and check that it's returning the expected JSON. I don't think anyone actually does that, though.

For my part, I tend to put non-UI stuff in libraries with their own unit tests. A workflow's frontend is usually simple enough that it's not a problem to test manually.

Your workflow appears to include its own mini library for interacting with Alfred. In a statically-typed language, that’s something I’d put in a separate library/package with its own unit tests. Same goes for the caching and the code that interacts with Jenkins.

If you decouple those parts from the application, there shouldn't be too much complexity left.