OS X selection in Clipboard History

- pastes the "selection in OS" text?

What (the selection? / the latest Clipboard item?) and where (in the frontmost application?) do you want to paste?

Could you be more precise, please. 

You can't paste a selection, so you can't pastes "the "selection in OS" text" but you can copy any Clipboard item. 

HTH.

Hi politicus,

I'm a translator, and I'm using Alfred as a simple CAT tool (computer assisted translation) for certain jobs. My clipboard history contains translated strings (each string contains the source sentence followed by the target sentence). When I have to translate a new sentence that I know I already translated a few minutes, hours ou days ago, I want to select the sentence in Pages (Numbers, or any other app) without copying it in the clipboard. The reason is quite simple: I want the clipboard history to contain only strings with both source and target sentences.

If I copy the selected text (sentence to translate) in the clipboard and then look into the clipboard history, I get 2 results (one with only the source to translate that I just copied, and the second result with both the source and the target). This is almost perfect... all I need is a way to look at the clipboard history without adding a "source only string" in the clipboard.

Concrete example with a screenshot (the clipboard history shows the "source only string" as first choice, and then the previously translated (source and target) segment. I need to get rid of the source only string to make the process perfect... (smaller clipboard, only translated strings, and no disturbing "source only strings" in the search results).

Thanks for the detailed explanation.  

From what I do understand, I'd give you 2 potential solutions:

- You can create a database of translations by copying them in the clipboard. When you want to translate, you just have to select (not copy) what you want to translate, open the clipboard, select the translation and hit enter.