filename_b.png

filename_c.png

filename_d.png

section2_subfolder

filename_a.png

filename_b.png

filename_c.png

filename_d.png

I'm not a programmer, so I set up an Automator workflow which allows me to select multiple folders, rename the files inside sequentially, then put these files into a new folder. There are three interactive prompts:

• one asking for the name of the project, stored in a variable folder
  • one showing a Finder window, allowing me to select folders (in my example above, I would select section1_subfolder1 and section2_subfolder2)
  • one asking for a number to append to the created folder, which will be in the form of projectname_section[number].

I made this into an application, that you can download here: link

So far no problem, I can launch the app from alfred without issue

The problem.

The problem is when I try to shorten the process by passing the argument in Alfred to the Automator script:

automator -d folder={query} /Users/Newbie/Documents/Scripts/folder_cleanup_alfred.workflow;

The app was converted into a workflow format beforehand, where I had deleted the prompt to enter the value of the variable folder, as it's managed by the argument in Alfred. The workflow is here: link

Two issues:

• The process opens a Terminal window, which is not cool as it doesn't close on its own
  • The paramater is passed to the script (as shown by the Terminal window), but Automator tells me that the argument is incorrect.

The other problem

I tried to use AppleScript, to get more flexibility, but the process of opening an interactive Finder window to select multiple folders is way above my head, and copy-pasting this solution doesn't do anything for me. So I got stuck at this point.

I have a preference to an AppleScript solution, because it doesn't open the Terminal, but if you can show me how to successfully pass an Alfred argument to the Automator wokflow bash command, that would be already great!

I hope it was clear enough.

Thanks