Snippet with variable

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Alfred, purchased few weeks ago and now I'm fiddling with it, using very few features. I guess I'll discover more and more from now on.

One question:

every day, for a newsletter, I have to paste a string like /content/xxx/eveningnews/2016/603/web/popover/ban_whatever

At the moment, I'm using a snippet with a generic string, but the thing is that every day the number after the year increases by one (instead of /603/ should be /604/).

Is this something the can be automated in Alfred?

Where should I start? Maybe scripting?

Thank you, sorry for my english, I'm from Rome, Italy…

Yes, it is possible, and yes it requires some scripting, but should be fairly simple. But what about the /2016/ part? Will that change when we enter 2017? And if so, does the other number keep increasing at the same rate as usual?

Today, Friday, October 14, 2016, what is the number?

Edited by vitor

I don't really care about the year, after all, you should change it once in a year time…

Today's string is the one I've posted: /content/xxx/eveningnews/2016/603/web/popover/ban_whatever

So, you're suggesting to do it via a workflow, implying a little script. Can't GREP come in handy?

Thank you for the quick reply,

Guido

Including the year takes no more effort than doing the rest, so no reason not to include it as well. grep has no relation to the task, all you need is simple date calculation. First I checked when 603 ago was (2015/02/19). Then, having that as the baseline, we need only check how many days have passed since then at the time we run the script. Using ruby:

require 'Date'

initial_date = Date.new(2015, 02, 19)
today = Date.today
current_year = today.year
day_difference = (today - initial_date).to_i

print "/content/xxx/eveningnews/#{current_year}/#{day_difference}/web/popover/ban_whatever"