Search Moby Games

This workflow allows you to search for games on Moby Games.

I'd like to add

• image thumbnail
  • more game data for each result
  • alternative titles (foreign titles as defaults are US-centric)
  • more search types

https://github.com/gingerbeardman/alfred-mobygames/

Screen shot 2023-06-11 at 18.51.42.png

It is a bit early to be submitted to the Gallery.

I plan to add to it, but I feel there is a simpler way of me translating the Moby Games API JSON to Alfred JSON?

This is my first time using `jq`.

So I am here to learn.

Screen shot 2023-06-11 at 18.49.59.png

Edited by gingerbeardman

You should always prefer with input as argv over with input as {query}. You’re escaping too much so some characters won’t be sent correctly.

Also, you should likely be URL escaping the input text. Something like:

USER_INPUT="${1}" # This assumes with input as argv, ${1} replaces {query}
ESCAPED="$(osascript -l JavaScript -e "function run(argv) { return encodeURIComponent(argv[0]) }" "${USER_INPUT}")"

RAW=......&title=${ESCAPED}")

Long story short: your current approach will work now as you’re typing ASCII but it might break if a user types a special character.

Note that the ; is redundant. You only need that if you have two things on the same line. Unlike JavaScript, where it’s a matter of style, in shell pretty much no one ends all lines with a semicolon.

On 6/11/2023 at 6:51 PM, gingerbeardman said:

image thumbnail

To do that, small trick I use on Short Films:

• Download the images to alfred_workflow_cache (be sure to create the folder: mkdir -p "${alfred_workflow_cache}")
  • Before every download, check if you already have it and use it if you do.
  • Once downloaded, check what’s the smaller of the two dimensions (width or height) then crop it to that to get a perfectly fitting square. This can all be done with sips which ships with macOS. I can get more specific later if you go that route.

On 6/11/2023 at 6:51 PM, gingerbeardman said: