Jump to content

Workflow - File Open action missing open with app


Codeplus
 Share

Recommended Posts

Alfred version 2.1.1 (227)

Alfred settings sync via Dropbox.

OSX Mavericks 10.9.1

 

I have two 2009 Mac Pro 4,1 desktop computers with the same specs, apps (and versions) and data (after synchronization). One is at work, the other at home. 

 

A workflow was created to open Sublime Text 3 workspace (project_name.sublime-workspace) files in Sublime Text 3. The file filter works correctly. The only other item is an offshoot of the File Filter, an Open File action. This is the problem area.

 

From Finder > Applications, Sublime Text is dragged into the box. Everything then opens in ST3, as it should. This can work for days. Once I try to open an ST3 workspace from the other computer, it doesn't work. The Open File action is blank again. I have to add it back each time I switch computers. Seems like a bug.

 

So, either the Open File action should sync and work correctly from the other computer, or not sync at all so it only has to be added once per computer. Not just blank it out and slow down my workflow.

 

Thanks,

 

Matt

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Alfred version 2.1.1 (227)

Alfred settings sync via Dropbox.

OSX Mavericks 10.9.1

 

I have two 2009 Mac Pro 4,1 desktop computers with the same specs, apps (and versions) and data (after synchronization). One is at work, the other at home. 

 

A workflow was created to open Sublime Text 3 workspace (project_name.sublime-workspace) files in Sublime Text 3. The file filter works correctly. The only other item is an offshoot of the File Filter, an Open File action. This is the problem area.

 

From Finder > Applications, Sublime Text is dragged into the box. Everything then opens in ST3, as it should. This can work for days. Once I try to open an ST3 workspace from the other computer, it doesn't work. The Open File action is blank again. I have to add it back each time I switch computers. Seems like a bug.

 

So, either the Open File action should sync and work correctly from the other computer, or not sync at all so it only has to be added once per computer. Not just blank it out and slow down my workflow.

 

Thanks,

 

Matt

 

Hi Matt,

 

Is Sublime Text installed in the same location on both Mac Pros? If the workflows are synced, the related resources would have to match for the workflow to operate in the same way on both Macs. Alfred won't change the configuration unless you ask him to, so it will always work on the one Mac until you save the workflow on the other Mac.

 

Cheers,

Andrew

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hello Andrew,

 

Thanks for your response. Yes, both Mac Pro computers have the same paths for Sublime Text and Dropbox. It seems that Alfred will retain that setting until I turn on the other Mac and Dropbox syncs. No editing needed. It removes the reference to Sublime Text without me even looking at the settings. The only real differences are the hostnames. Maybe I will write an Applescript to open Sublime instead.

 

Matt

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

I'm moving this to noted for now, but in my investigation, the setting doesn't disappear. There is either a Dropbox conflict issue going on, or some setting is different on each Mac which is making Alfred clear out a setting when editing a workflow in the opposite Mac.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...