Folder Directory Workflow

Yes, it is. If you want to use Alfred to pick the destination directory, you should implement it as a File Action, i.e. select a directory in Finder or Alfred (or most other apps), then you can run Alfred's File Actions on it and choose "Create New Folders…" (or whatever) to run your workflow.

FWIW, mkdir has a -p option to create intermediate directories, and you can use {...} for multiple directories, so:

mkdir -p "$1/$2/{INTV,TRACKING,MUX SFX,RAW TAPE,SELECTS}"
mkdir -p "$1/$2/SESSIONS/{CHAP 1,CHAP 2, CHAP 3,CHAP 4,CHAP 5,STRINGOUTS}"

should create all of your directories with less typing.

@deanishe thank you! I managed to get that to work. It creates the folders! I'm new to this, is there a way to choose the destination directory and then pass a {query} that names the parent folder these folders would reside with. i.e.

- navigate to directory 

- choose file action

- type file name of project folder name

- run mkdir scripts 

I'm just stabbing in the dark.

5 hours ago, deanishe said:

Store the incoming query (the directory path) in a variable, then use a Keyword to ask for the name of the parent directory. Now you can access both variables from your script.

I'm afraid i am now in over my head. I'm not sure how to store the path i navigated to within alfred in a variable and then then use a Keyword to ask for the name of the parent directory. And modify the script to accept those variables. I apologize but i am learning as i go.

Edited by sepulchra
  • 2 years later...
On 12/1/2018 at 8:05 PM, deanishe said:

I already use your workflow very often. I would just like to make a change that I somehow can't manage myself. I would like the workflow not to ask for a new name, but to always follow the parent folder. 

So I want to create a folder that I name XY. Then I want to execute the folder action which creates subfolders (XY_1, XY_2, XY_3 etc.).