Help with Script Filter from bash script

My goal for my workflow is to run a bash command that uses ldapsearch to search my university's directory and return a list of contacts that operates similar to Alfred's contact search. I've got my bash script running fine, but I'm just unclear on how to format the returned information in the best way. Any guidance on script filtering and bash script returning would be great! I am relatively new at this, so excuse my poor terminology.

I have, I'm just not sure how to go about connecting the dots..I'm pretty green at all of this. Here's my output from the terminal (using generic parameters instead of specific for privacy) : 

command: ldapsearch -h ldap.server.com -x -b "dc=company,dc=com" "uid=*username*" "telephoneNumber" "mail" "uid"

# extended LDIF 
# 
# LDAPv3 
# base with scope subtree 
# filter: uid=*username* 
# requesting: telephoneNumber mail uid 
# 

# username, people, ex.com 
dn: uid=username, ou=people, dc=company, dc=com 
telephoneNumber: +1 111 111-1111 
mail: email 
uid: username 
# search result 
search: 2 
result: 0 Success 
# numResponses: 2 
# numEntries: 1 

I'd like to be able to return the telephonNumber, mail, and uid values back to alfred similar to the way it does for the built-in contacts. Is this possible? Even better would be to be able to trigger an email from the mail value.

Edited by chrishumphr1es

You have to parse the command output to extract the name, username, email etc. and then reformat each entry as XML that Alfred understands.

If you're new to programming, I'd suggest you try something like Python, PHP or Ruby, which are a lot easier than bash. There are also great libraries that can help you generate results in the format Alfred needs.

Regarding sending an email, make the email the arg value in the output and send it to another script that opens the URL mailto:{query}. {query} is how Alfred inserts the arg into your script.