Saving .webloc file to user-specified location.

I'm trying to create a workflow to save a link (.webloc file) to a user-specified location. I'm new to Alfred and coding, so I thought I would start off "slow" but, as it turns out, it's not as straightforward as I hoped and I've spent an embarrassingly long time trying to figure it out! It's time to ask for help :)

I've been piecing together the code via snippets found online and trial and error. Here's what I have so far:

try
     --Get URL and Title of page from Google Chrome
     tell application "Google Chrome" to tell active tab of window 1
          set u to URL
          set t to title
     end tell

--Set default folder to save in; use the form "set defaultpath to "Macintosh HD:Users:katie:Downloads" as alias" for another specific location
     set defaultpath to (path to downloads folder) as alias

--Make link and ask user to choose name (title of page is suggested) and location (starts at default folder)
     tell application "Finder"
          make new internet location file to u at {choose file name with prompt "Save file as:" default location defaultpath default name t}
          open information window of result
     end tell
end try

From everything I can find online, this should work. I know that there are problems with it because, from what I understand, it will alert the user if there is already a file with the same name and ask them if they want to replace it or not but then won't actually do those actions. But I thought I would focus on getting a file to actually save first...This code opens a save as dialogue with the pre-populated name and location, but nothing is saved. Sometimes the default save location doesn't work either and it goes instead to my Documents folder.

I found two solutions but they are not ideal. The following solution definitely works but doesn't allow for a user-specified name and location:

make new internet location file at desktop to u with properties {name:t}