Problem with Write Text File using multiple variables

Hey there. First off I'm not a programmer so I apologize for the abomination you're about to witness in this workflow.

So here's my issue: I'm trying to write a workflow that I can use to select text in Safari, hit a hotkey and have a .md file created in a specific folder. That's fine and I've got that working. The problem I'm having is when I start to try to use multiple variables. I'm sure it's something I'm doing, but I simply can't get more than one variable to be written in the file. I've tested each variable by either having it copy to the clipboard or having it post to large type and they all work, but for some reason I can't get all the variables working together. I strongly suspect I'm missing something about how to use variables even though I've been googling about this till my fingers bleed lol.

Alfred v3.6.2

macOS 10.13.6

Link to workflow

Thanks for any help!

-Scott

The variables are:

{uid}    (date:yyyyMMddHHmm)

{url}    (current tab's url)

{title}    (current tab's title)

{selection}    (selected text in Safari)

And here's what I'm trying to get:

Filename: {var:uid} {var:title}.md

Contents of file:

UID: {var:uid}
Source: {var:url}
Tags: 

# MyNoteTitleHere

MyNotesHere

---

## {var:title}

{var:selection}

There are a couple of issues with your workflow which which is why it's not working as you intend:

1. Having 3 separate streams coming out of a hotkey means these three streams are running independently of each other, the top one first, then the second, then third one down. I.e. in your example workflow, the file will be written 3 times. To run as a single flow, you need to chain the items in series.