Alfred workflow please support Java

ifvsvg

Please support Java in workflow ~~!

Since I'm a java programmer and I'm familiar with Java, if I want to write a complex workflow using python, then I will spend a lot of time to learn python and all kind of library, it's really inconvenient.

There are more and more Java programmer, so please support Java in workflow ~!

It’s not an issue, it’s a thread, so no need to close it. 

You don’t need a library to write workflows. They were more important in Alfred 2, where you had to generate XML for Script Filters and do your own result filtering. Alfred 3 uses JSON and can filter results for you.

Be warned that Java is not a good fit for workflows, however. Workflows are very short-lived processes, and Alfred tries to run Script Filters every time the query changes (i.e. on every keypress).

So Java’s slow start-up time makes it a really bad choice for workflows.

Java is that fast? I was expecting more like 500ms. I’d be interested to hear how it does when you load more libraries to do something useful. 

160ms is about the load time for a large Python or Ruby workflow (i.e. including quite a lot of libraries).

Obviously, they don’t run anywhere near as fast as Java, though.

• 1 year later...

@deanishe I have an app, written in kotlin, that is packaged as a 22Mb fat jar file.  Libraries are non-trivial -- sqlite, micronaut, picocli, kotlin statistics.  There's really no need for micronaut in this app, but I'm experimenting with it, so there it is.  I have not yet done any testing with Alfred