Pass clipboard to Applescript in Alfred

I know this is a total noob question, but how do I pass the contents of the clipboard to an Applescript that I want to trigger in Alfred?

I have a script that works fine if I copy some text to the clipboard and then run the script. Now that it works, I would like to be able to trigger the script from Alfred. I just cannot work out how to pass the contents of the clipboard to the script, the first line of which is `set theText to the clipboard`.

Is there a way to select the text in the document and then trigger the script? I suppose that would mean changing the first line, but that's no problem.

I'm happy to read a tutorial, but I'm just not sure where to look, as this seems to basic.

Thanks

Jeremy

Sorry, it's not entirely clear what you're asking. If the first line of your script is "set theText to the clipboard", it should work. You're not running it using a Run NSAppleScript action, are you? If so, don't: it behaves very strangely. Use a normal Run Script action instead, with Language = /usr/bin/osascript (AS).

1 hour ago, jeremycherfas said:

I guess I don't know enough about Applescript to dislike it as much as many people here.

You posted a single line of the script and asked us to explain why the script doesn't work. All anyone can do in that situation is guess what the problem might be, regardless of which language it's written in.

I'm sorry. My tone came over wrong. I sincerely meant thank you. I tried it as a Run Script action instead and all is well.

My comment reflected the fact that whatever I searched for in Applescript seemed to focus more on why Applescript was a bad language rather than how to use it with Alfred. Your tip about not using NSAppleScript action, for example, cropped up occasionally without context.

8 hours ago, jeremycherfas said:

I'm sorry. My tone came over wrong. I sincerely meant thank you.

No problem. I wasn't offended or anything.